Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to PP requesting advice for driving in snow conditions

Good morning,

a buddy of mine recomended this site to me a short while ago and I must say I have taken in alot of knowledge from going through various threads and am very impressed with the community you all have created from beginners to rock climbing beasts. I recently acquired a 2002 TD GXL as i'm getting a little older now (31) my driving style has slowed down and my passion for ground shaking glass shattering V8 chev stepsides has died (Got one for sale if anyone wants one ;-)

On a serious note I did want to ask if anyone has some advice for driving in snow/ice conditions i'm relative new to the south and am keen to explore the snow fields. I am also new to the 4wd world so please excuse my ignorance if i'm asking some pretty basic questions. I'm gathering snow chains would be obvious if called upon but what about tyres? I have pretty standard dunlop highway tyres would it be worth picking up a second set of rims and specific off road tyres for these conditions including camping trips? Also with driving in snowing conditions were i'm gathering the road may get a little slippery what 4wd gear would be recommended.

Cheers in advance

-Boston

Well my experience with snow is pretty limited, but I'll do what I can. I'd be great to hear from people in the northern hemisphere as they'd have significantly more experience than anyone in Aus!

Ice is extremely slippery but different to mud. In mud the difference between traction and no traction is blurred - you usually have some form of control and can change directions. However with ice, the difference is very sharp, you'll suddenly go from good traction to ZERO traction. Once you've lost traction in ice it's not usually possible to get it back - the side of the road is what stops you. At least, this is what I've found with MT tyres.