Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Byford WA
    Posts
    85

    1KZTE wont hold lok up cruise on

    Hi mall,

    Just been on a relatively short trip to Bridgetown from perth. Even on flat it wont hold lock in whatever the highest gear is when I use cruse. it locks up at just on 80 kph and I can drive for miles not using cruise with it locked. Most annoying. This happen to anyone else?

    Apart from that an enjoyable trip towing our Jayco Journey.

    cheers,

    Owen VK6YBA

  2. #2
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sydney, NSW
    Posts
    825
    When towing you should be in 4th gear and not drive to save gearbox from overheating especially when towing a big van. Info on this in the handbook.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Byford WA
    Posts
    85
    hi 404mpg.

    Being a non d4d I think this has a 3 speed auto with torque converter lock or as some refer to it, overdrive.

    I am talking about it's operation on the flat not going up hills.

    may be I will reread the manual.

    cheers,

    Owen VK6YBA

  4. #4
    Senior Member scottkz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Perth WA
    Posts
    455
    Strange mine locks up at 80klph
    There a 4spd auto plus lock up
    4th being overdrive
    You can only select low and 2nd and drive
    Theres also no power button
    There is no option for overdrive off there supposedly smart enough to detect when is not required
    The 90 has the identical box and motor but different ecu but dose have overdrive off button
    As for not going into lock up check the fluid level
    Change the fluid would be a bery good idea also

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    queensland
    Posts
    186
    The way I read it is, she runs in convertor lock when out of cruise, but won't stay convertor locked when in cruise???
    If that's the case I don't think it's anything to do with the trany or TPS.
    Has it got the electro hydraulic brakes on this model ? Not familiar with 120's.
    Found on the Aristo that any fault thrown by the electric brake controller would automatically cut cruise, TCS, top speed and so on.
    Like a Christmas tree on the dash.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Byford WA
    Posts
    85
    Just a bog standard 1KZTE. will not remain in lock if cruise is used. will stay in lock out of cruise with no issue. locks at about 80kph.

    I guess I will have to live with it, just like losing cruise setting if it goes under 40kph but at least that is in the owners book.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    queensland
    Posts
    186
    Sounds like you may be asking too much of it? Loaded with the camper etc.
    I have the same but in a 90 so I've got the O/D button on the stick.
    When towing I wind her up through the cogs, using the button to keep her pulling hard in 3rd locked right up to around 90. Then I hit the button and she'll drop into locked O/D and keep on pulling.
    At 2000 I call it a day and go to cruise where she'll stay all day UNLESS the road gets hilly.
    Then I watch the boost gauge as that's the only way you can tell just how hard cruise is pushing the engine. Once boost gets to 10 or over, I drop out of cruise and revert to accelerator control. If I leave it in cruise and the hills continue it will eventually drop out of locked 4th.
    4th unlocked is only going to heat the trany oil and road speed is almost the same as locked 3rd so that's where she does all her hard work.
    Slipping through the convertor is fine for traffic or when driving as a car only but if towing, convertor slip will add a LOT of heat to the trany oil and via the heat exchanger, to the engine coolant.
    It's odd Toyota didn't give some way to control O/D in the 120. When Holden dropped the O/D off button in their commos, they added another slot to the gear selector. (D and D1)
    I wonder if a convertor lock up kit would improve things? About $600 from Wholesale Automatics.
    As an old timer ex truckie, I know you have to keep the engine working in its peak torque range and for a KZ that's pretty tight, around 1900 to 2200.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Byford WA
    Posts
    85
    hi all,

    I have a home fitted trans cooler and have tried to connect my android phone [Huawai] to blue tooth dongle I can keep an eye on things but with no luck.

    Owen

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •